Job Hunting & Meditation – part 2

2017 began and I felt re-charged with fresh energy. I love 1st January and the effect it has on me. I feel like a snake shedding its old skin and being reborn refreshed and new (that is also one of the reasons why I don’t like staying up late on 31st December so I can really enjoy the new year beginning!).

I was suffering a mild hangover but I meditated and that got me into really good spirits. We’ve had our friends and their kids here, and we decided to make a 1st January pub trip. What a great idea. Everyone was happy and in such a good mood. Great start to the new year!

But back to job hunting, uh..

I managed to get an interview with Digital River. The hiring manager gave me a call and we arranged a face-to-face chat later in the week. When we met it felt like we were old friends, got on like house on fire. I answered all the questions really well and he was amazed how much I know about the Affiliate industry especially when I’ve been working in only a few months. As a result, I’ve been invited to the final interview for which I’ve had to do a bit of research. In this interview (which was another week later) I’ve been given the opportunity to meet the head honcho, too. It all went really well, they loved my presentation saying it was one of the best they’ve seen.

But (off-course, there is a ‘but’ since I’m still jobless) it has become apparent that I live too far. Now, this is something I’ve been aware of, however, I was also under the impression that I’d be able to work some days from home (if I was to get the job) as this is fairly common with how this company operates and this is something I’ve been told by the HR. True is this team doesn’t want people working from home, the whole team commutes to the office every day. They feared that if I was to commute every day I’d soon get bored and leave. And this is something they couldn’t accept as their client’s well-being & happiness is their priority (off course, the staple of any business) and they just couldn’t face to disappoint them. This was totally acceptable as a reason to me, but this wasn’t a straight no. They were thinking about this. For 4 weeks when I finally found out (after a few chase up emails) that they have decided to hire someone else. Although I learned so much about the specific industry (anti-virus software) I came to another conclusion:

 

Learning no. 2 – be clear about what you and they want right from the beginning.

 

So by mid-February, I was back to Square One. Off course I was applying for more roles and talking to more recruitment agents whilst I was waiting for their decision, but in January there was very little amount of jobs out there. I’ve still had an interview with BrandWatch, which went OK but the interviewer but it was felt they were looking for someone with more social experience (!!) and I wasn’t invited to 2nd interview

The search continues. I’ve been approached by a great recruiter Cath Reid from Talent Hub recruitment agency about a potential role with Pi-Datametrics. This was a very interesting role. PD are an enterprise SEO platform. SEO and the whole Search Engine Marketing subject was my favorite subject whilst studying last year so I got little excited. I’ve had not a huge hands-on experience with SEO but I have a good understanding of the field and felt like this could be a great opportunity to get into the world of SEO and Analytics. Whilst I was preparing for an interview with them I also met my daughter friend’s dad, who is an SEO expert and has been in the industry for cca 17 years. He gave me some great advice and pointers in order to prep thoroughly and in the right way.

1st interview went really well. I felt comfortable, I’ve been interviewed by 3 of their people. Yes, I felt a bit intimidated, but only for a few seconds at the beginning. The panel made me feel really comfortable and at home. Following the interview, I’ve received some really positive feedback from them and have been invited to a 2nd interview. Here I was getting really excited now. I was going to meet their CTO & Head of Strategy which made me think that I almost have the job. For that interview I had to do some research into the SEO platforms landscape (I learned so much about the competitor field).

I came to the interview really well prepared. The guys were running a bit late as they were discussing ‘exciting future stuff’. Whilst I waited I’ve been taken care of by their staff who have spent some of their time out of their day to talk to me. Everyone seems so great and familiar. I honestly felt the job is within my reach. The interview lasted about 45 minutes. Me & the CTO got on really well throughout the interview, had a really good chat and we continue talking even now. But as with all the other jobs, there is always someone better, someone with more experience, and so I didn’t get the job. This kind of broke my heart a bit. In fact, I still feel like crying. The company felt so right..

 

I’ve also interview with The Body Shop for an Affiliate Manager role. Totally different energy and very different interview. I didn’t get invited to a 2nd stage. Fair enough.

 

Another one worth mentioning is iCrossing – digital marketing agency part of Hearst magazines (Cosmo, Elle). I went for an Affiliate Manager role. The interview went really well but it became apparent it was to manage their clients on the European site and it was felt I don’t have enough experience in Affiliate Marketing in those markets. However, my interviewer must have liked me as he gave me some really good feedback and we are currently discussing roles within their Account Management team. Whether something comes out of it – we shall see. I would off course love to as the agency sounds amazing and has some really cool clients.

Fingers crossed.

 

Last one (but not least) – I’ve been interviewing with Proporta. This is a strategic role working in their eCommerce, and I following my call with the hiring manager yesterday I think I could really make this one work. Again we shall see.

 

I’ve also applied for a role with SiteVisibility however, more on this tomorrow.

 

I’ll also write about my experience from Talent 2017 event that was in Brighton last week.

I’ve now meditated almost every day, it really helps with my interactions with all the new people are meet. It helps with all daily anxieties I am faced with as someone who feels ‘not part of the society’ at the moment. More on this another time. This post is too long already.

Thanks for reading 🙂

One thought on “Job Hunting & Meditation – part 2

  1. I am SO GLAD I never intend to leave my job, ever, unless I’m sacked or have to move to a different area (or any one of many reasons, oh God…) Interviews are THE WORST. You have all of my sympathy. xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

